A Word on ‘Capi’

March 14, 2008

As any of my close friends or classmates can attest, I’ve recently been having a series of mini-breakdowns regarding the horrific-ness and pervasiveness of capitalism. It’s been kind of a struggle figuring out how to negotiate all the nonsense. But today I decided that I need to start distinguishing between the system of global capitalism and capitalism more broadly. Meaning that global capitalism and the racism, imperialism/colonialism and paternalism attached to it does not necessarily need to be attached to capitalism more broadly. As one of my professors pointed out to me last night, capitalism is the only place where risks can occur and be rewarded, so maybe it shouldn’t be written off. So that’s what I’m trying to do now. The end.

Leave a Reply

